cowbellz's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

abdul the capitol guy

i met abdul on the way to meet yimay at the death cab for cutie show at emos.

i was walking down red river alone and this man started talking to me. normally i'm very weary of talking to strangers in that part of town but he seemed nothing but pleasant.

he said "excuse me young lady, but give me any state and i'll tell you the capitol. i'm ready. GO."

so, i start rambling off states. wisconsin. maine. rhode island. georgia. montana.

he knew them all. (at least they sounded right. i can't say that geography has ever been one of my strengths.)

i was impressed. so, i asked him, "do you do countries too?"

he said he didn't know them all, "but here's what i know..." and he started rambling off countries and their capitols. he knew the capitols of countries i didn't even know existed.

amazing.

so then he tells me he got all of this information or "all this intelligence" from the almanac. he had actually memorized parts of the almanac.

then he asked me for four dollars. i gladly gave him the only two bucks i had on me. then he asked if he could give me a box of books in exchange for the money. apparently the recycling places gives away free books.

i told him that i was all set on books but if i could, i would love to take his photo.

his face lit up, he walked into the light, and squatted. he said, "i'm real good at posing. how's this?"

it was perfect.

1:58 am - 11 november 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

sent
rekay22
jkrippel
silleehed
brandoangel