cowbellz's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

i sit cross legged.

i just had one of the most entertaining lunches i've had in a long time.

some of you have heard me talk about my friend shaneta that i work with. she's SO great. she's the one who told me not to get caught up with the "white girl crew" at work because i had too much spice for that. ahhh yeah, i got SPICE.

so first of all, i go to lunch in the cafeteria with shaneta and traci. they've both grown up in the same neighborhood, they know tons of the same people, and they've worked at the hospital for 5 years. so they know everything about everyone. and boy do they like to gossip.

lunch with these girls is a trip, let me tell you. they sit side by side facing the main walkway of the cafeteria. they light up and wave at people walking by and then immediately discuss after they pass. i'm just sitting across from them at the table, so i don't see any of the people they're talking about. which, to me, makes it funnier. i heard everything from how this girl always has fabulous shoes, to how that guy is "dipping around" on his wife. my favorite was when they talked about how this one girl split her pants the other day because they had grown too small for her. traci saw her wearing scrubs and carrying her pants in her hand. and that's the conclusion she came to. heh.

but my favorite part of the day was when i learned that sitting indian style was a white thing. we go sit outside after lunch and i sit cross legged. shaneta looks at me and says, "okra, why do all white people sit like that?" i about fell out. i never noticed that this was true. she told me to "peep around" and i wouldn't find any sistas sitting like that. i got all self conscious and tried to sit like they were sitting, and shaneta told me, "no okra, just be white. cross them legs."

HAHAHA. oh my, i love that girl.

2:17 pm - 19 april 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

sent
rekay22
jkrippel
silleehed
brandoangel