cowbellz's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

does the tomato bacon soup have dairy in it? i eat meat but not dairy.

my feet hurt, yo. or as my roommate would say, "these dogs are barkin'." what a weird expression.

so, i'm in the middle of the hellish week of training to be a waitress. oh, excuse me, server. that's the pc term.

somehow, i have managed to make it 26 years without ever working in a restaurant. don't get me wrong, i've worked other similar jobs, i've paid my dues. try retail at christmas, UGH. but now i'm working at the type of place where they don't hire people who have never been a server before. so i have to keep my secret on the down low. i started as a host and they never questioned if i had waited tables before. i never volunteered the truth.

but now that i'm training, people are saying things like, "where you worked before, did they use pivot points?" huh? what's a pivot point?

so, i make it up as i go along. my story is coming along nicely. so far, i worked in a restaurant in boston. it was more of a beer and burgers place. that's why i don't know about wine. and that's why i have a hard time remembering exactly what is in our 50 million sauces. i'm not super comfortable carrying the big huge trays of food. why? oh, because at my other job we had food runners who did that. we didn't run our own food.

ha. i'm a fraud. but i'm pulling it off nicely if i do say so myself.

also, it will be nice when i get to keep the tips. right now i have to turn them over to my trainer. that makes me want to cry.

5:20 pm - 12 december 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

sent
rekay22
jkrippel
silleehed
brandoangel