cowbellz's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

-

ok so check this out. it's been raining here in austin. A LOT.

sunday night, i went out downtown. say around midnight. it was barely sprinkling. after a while, it started raining REALLY hard. we ran in the rain to another bar a few blocks away for last call. then ran back to my car, soaked to the bone.

we rounded the corner to make the final sprint to my car and there it was. in waist deep water. i had parked by stupid waller creek and it overflowed and my car was drowning.

the water was halfway up the doors. i just stood there in shock at first and then just started cracking up. i went to talk to the cops who were blocking off the street and they told me that the two cars all cock-eyed in front of my car had floated to that position and to not even attempt to approach my car.

luckily, our friend had the van that his band tours in downtown with him and we all hopped in there and tried to reach safety. it was like freaking armageddon out there. every road we tried was flooded, we couldn't get to the eastside at all. the cops told us to get to higher ground and stay there. "downtown is under water", they said.

so all five of us has to crash, soaking wet, at lana's house. imagine my friend dave in the only dry clothes that lana had that could possibly fit him. he had on long john pants that were too short and a t-shirt that i made for her that ended up looking like a half shirt on him. i've never laughed so hard in my life.

whew.

so my dad and i cleaned out my car the next morning and had it towed to be inspected by the insurance company. cross your fingers that it's totaled, people. kristy wants a new car.

but until we know that, i have a rental car this week. a little silver dodge stratus two door with a SPOILER on the back. i feel like i'm in high school. it reminds me of a cross between angela's sebring and rachel's eclipse that i spent many an hour in when i was 17.

ha. my car flooded. it still cracks me up.

3:10 pm - 23 november 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

sent
rekay22
jkrippel
silleehed
brandoangel