cowbellz's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

last day at yet another job

19 september 2002 - 11.47 am

last day at work. it pretty much sucks.

i'm stuck in the scheduling room answering phones. i'm attached to the phone by a long cord and can't get up without being reprimanded. i'm a prisoner. i can't see and talk to any of the people that i'm going to miss from this place. they stop in and talk to me but it's not the same.

i think my boss did it on purpose. she's apparently bitter that i'm leaving and has been talking shit about me to my coworkers.

yeah, she's extremely professional.

i don't trust her at all. luckily, i found a nice lady to be my reference. one who also doesn't think highly of my boss.

people are acting weird. shaneta is barely talking to me. you can tell she's sad but she's trying not to show it. some people just glare at me as i walk by, in a joking way. i think they're trying to be funny and at the same time let me know that they don't want me to go.

but it's making me sad. i will probably never see these people again. they are a huge part of my whole boston experience. i learned a lot about the city from these people. i want to enjoy my last day with them, not feel guilty for leaving them.

joanna and i talked about this last night. (it's been so great having her in town) we talked about how we don't understand why some people react so strangely to people leaving. i told her how mine and shaneta's friendship hasn't been the same since i told her about my plan. she doesn't talk to me as much. she acknowledges it, and tells me that she doesn't want to get too attached so she won't be upset when i leave.

jo said the same thing happened to her when she left college. she graduated a semester early and people didn't really respond to her when she tried to tell them goodbye. she moved to austin and when she went back months later, she had people come up to her and apologize and say that they wished they had hung out more before she left.

i wonder if shaneta will feel that way. i'm going to miss her. i think i'll write her a note to tell her so. even if she's not talking to me, i can still tell her i enjoyed her friendship.

also, so far no goodbye sheet cake. isn't there supposed to be a sheet cake? jo will be very disappointed.

11:47 am - 19 september 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

sent
rekay22
jkrippel
silleehed
brandoangel